Badminton is a popular sport, but there’s one big question that people have about it: can the shuttlecock touch the net and still be considered in play? Some people say that if the shuttlecock touches the net, it’s an automatic point for the other team. Others say that as long as the shuttlecock hits the top of the net, then it’s still considered in play. So which is it? Let’s look at what the rule book has to say about it.
A shuttlecock can touch any part of the net in badminton and still be considered in play as long as the shuttlecock still goes over the net. This includes serves. In fact, the shuttlecock may make contact with the net multiple times and still be considered in play. A semi-common occurrence is a net tumble, where the shuttlecock gets clipped at the top of the net and rolls down the opposite side of the net, making it extremely difficult to return.
Join our mailing list below or on our About Page for exclusives, offers, and the latest news from BadmintonBites! By joining, you’ll get 25% off anything from our shop!
What Happens if the Shuttlecock Is Suspended or Caught on the Net in Badminton?
According to the official rule book of the Badminton World Federation (BWF), if the shuttlecock is suspended on top of the net or is caught in the net after passing over the net after the service, it is a let. A let is a redo of the point, where neither team or player wins the point.
However, during a service, if a shuttlecock gets suspended on top of the net or is caught in the net after passing over the net, it is a fault for the server. This means the receiving player wins the point.
Can a Shuttlecock Touch the Ceiling in Badminton?
A shuttlecock that touches the ceiling is considered a fault by the hitter in badminton. Hitting the ceiling completely changes the flight of the shuttlecock and is considered interference.
Can a Shuttlecock Touch a Wall in Badminton?
A shuttlecock that touches a wall is considered a fault by the hitter in badminton. Hitting a shuttlecock off a wall is considered interference. This is badminton, not racquetball or squash!
Can a Player or Their Racket Touch the Net in Badminton?
Players and their rackets cannot touch the net in badminton. Furthermore, players cannot touch the supports of the net in badminton either. Doing so will result in a fault and the point will be awarded to the opposing player or team.
Touching the net and its supports is allowed when you are not in the middle of the rally. However, in an official match, you cannot change the height or other attributes of the net.
Can a Player’s Clothing Touch the Net in Badminton?
A player’s clothing cannot touch the net or its supports in badminton. Doing so will result in a fault and the point will be awarded to the opposing player or team.
Clothing, while not part of a player’s body, can still make the net move and therefore make it unfair for the opponents. BWF’s rules are very strict when it comes to touching the net in order to ensure fair gameplay.
Thank you for reading! Our most popular posts are our badminton equipment posts, make sure to check them out next.
Also, don’t forget to subscribe to our email list down below for a FREE downloadable PDF and a 25% COUPON CODE for our store.
BadmintonBites is all about honest and authentic badminton content. The goal of BadmintonBites is to create real value for the badminton community, which is often plagued with subpar or downright false content on the internet.
Badminton deserves so much more and we’re here to share our experience and expertise with you. You can read more about BadmintonBites and our purpose on our About Us page.
We would love to have you with us on our badminton journey and we hope to provide you with as much value as possible.
Here’s some guides and reviews on badminton products. We update this list whenever we add new equipment content – hope you enjoy!